Accessibility links

Breaking News

Russian TV Station To Air Programs On CIS

The Soviet flag being taken down from the Kremlin on December 31, 1991 (epa) September 1, 2006 -- The Russian television station Vesti 24 announced today it plans to air special programs this season focusing on the countries in the Commonwealth of Independent States.

The programs will highlight events that have occurred in individual CIS countries in the 15 years since the collapse of the Soviet Union.

The CIS includes Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Tajikistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

Turkmenistan is an associate member.