Accessibility links

Breaking News

Southeastern European Countries Sign Free Trade Pact

Romanian Prime Minister Calin Popescu Tariceanu at the CEFTA summit (epa) December 19, 2006 -- Nine countries of Southeastern Europe and the Serbian province of Kosovo today signed a new Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA) in Bucharest.

The free trade zone is seen as a stepping stone for the region's deeper economic integration within the European Union.

The members of the pact are Albania, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Macedonia, and Kosovo.


RFE/RL Briefings

RFE/RL Briefings

BEYOND THE HEADLINES. RFE/RL regularly hosts briefings and discussions with leading experts on our broadcast region. In 2006, some of the crucials topics were gas wars, elections in Belarus and Ukraine, Iran's nuclear program, and unrest in Central Asia....(more)


To receive RFE/RL briefing invitations and reports by electronic mail, send a message to with "Subscribe" in the subject line.

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.