Accessibility links

Breaking News

Caspian Foreign Ministers Meet In Moscow

The foreign ministers of the five Caspian littoral countries will meet in Moscow on April 22 to discuss the legal status of the Caspian Sea in an effort to divide the sea's oil and gas resources.

The meeting with officials from Russia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, and Turkmenistan comes ahead of a Caspian Summit in the Russian city Astrakhan in the fall.

The five countries have long been unable to agree on the division of the sea's valuable resources.

If the Caspian is declared a sea then the littoral countries would have to divide it into sectors in which each country gets the oil and gas on its territory.

But if it's decided the Caspian is a lake then the resources from the gas and oil in the Caspian must be divided equally among the five countries.
Based on reporting by ITAR-TASS, Interfax