Accessibility links

Breaking News

Five Candidates Register For Kyrgyz Presidential Election

Adakhan Madumarov of the Butun Kyrgyzstan party is one of the registered presidential candidates.
BISHKEK -- The Kyrgyz Central Election Commission (BSK) says that five candidates have officially registered so far for the upcoming presidential election, RFE/RL's Kyrgyz Service reports.

BSK member Jenish Akmatov told RFE/RL on July 14 that Adakhan Madumarov of the Butun (United Kyrgyzstan) party, Kamchybek Tajiev of the opposition Ata-Jurt (Fatherland) party, and Erkin Bulekbaev of the Green Party are the candidates registered so far who represent political parties.

Akmatov said there are two self-nominated candidates -- former Supreme Court judge Barktabas Azimkulov and former Ozgen Mayor Rasul Joldoshev.

August 15 is the deadline for registering as a candidate in the presidential election, which is scheduled for October 30.

Akmatov said that in order to be officially registered by the election commission, presidential candidates must submit 30,000 valid signatures in their support and 100,000 Kyrgyz soms (about $2,200).

Current President Roza Otunbaeva -- who took over after the ouster of President Kurmanbek Bakiev in April 2010 -- is not running for reelection.

Many analysts expect Prime Minister Almazbek Atambaev to stand for president as well.

Read more in Kyrgyz here

Read more in Russian here