Accessibility links

Breaking News

Five Kyrgyz Parliament Deputy Speakers Elected

Parliament speaker Akhmatbek Keldibekovfrom the Ata-Jurt party.
BISHKEK -- The Kyrgyz parliament has elected five deputy speakers, RFE/RL's Kyrgyz Service reports.

Three are from coalition parties: Myktybek Abdyldaev of Ata-Jurt (Homeland); Bakyt Torobaev of Respublika, and Asylbek Jeenbekov of the Social Democratic party.

The other two are from opposition parties: Asiya Sasykbaeva of Ata-Meken (Fatherland) and Bodosh Mamyrova of Ar-Namys (Dignity).

On December 16, two months after the October elections, three parties -- the Social Democratic party, Ata-Jurt, and Respublika -- announced the creation of a coalition government.

Akmatbek Keldibekov, 44, from the Ata-Jurt party was elected parliament speaker on December 17, while Social-Democrat leader Almazbek Atambaev became prime minister.

Read in Kyrgyz here.