Accessibility links

Breaking News

Moscow Set To Host CSTO, EEU Summits

Leaders of the Russian-led Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) and Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) are meeting in Moscow on December 21.

Russian presidential aide Yury Ushakov said the agenda of a session of the CSTO's Collective Security Council will include choosing a successor for Secretary-General Nikolai Bordyuzha and adopting a statement on the fight against terrorism.

The organization groups Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan.

The Supreme Eurasian Economic Council will also hold a session, during which Ushakov said Russia will suggest taking "joint protective measures" following the establishment of a Ukrainian-EU free-trade zone planned for the end of the month.

The EEU, which currently brings more than 180 million people into a single market, was officially established in 2015 and includes Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, and Kyrgyzstan.

Based on reporting by TASS and Interfax

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.