Accessibility links

Breaking News

Pakistan's New Government Sworn In As Sharif Cements Position


Pakistani Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif.
Pakistani Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif.

The members of Pakistan's new cabinet have taken their oaths in a ceremony held in the capital, Islamabad.

The new government, comprised of an alliance of political parties, was sworn in on April 19, just over a week after Pakistan's parliament ousted Imran Khan in a no-confidence vote. Opposition politician Shehbaz Sharif was elected by lawmakers to replace Khan.

Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani, who is also the acting president, administered the oath of office to 31 federal ministers and ministers of state, who will form Sharif's cabinet.

The portfolios for the cabinet members have not yet been announced.

The new cabinet includes prominent lawmakers such as Khawaja Mohammad Asif, a former defense minister and a member of the Pakistan Muslim League party.

Several politicians from the party of former President Asif Ali Zardari are also part of the cabinet, including Khursheed Shah and Sherry Rehman.

Khan, who held power for three years, had tried to prevent the no-confidence vote by dissolving parliament and calling early elections, but a Supreme Court ruling ordered the no-confidence vote to go ahead.

Khan has demanded new elections, saying the new government was imposed under a U.S. conspiracy, a charge Washington has denied, and which the new government in Pakistan says is a lie.

Parliamentary elections must be held by October 2023.

With reporting by AFP and

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.