Accessibility links

Breaking News

Medvedev: New Eurasian Union To Be Set Up By 2015


Russian President Dmitry Medvedev (center) is surrounded by presidents from the EEC countries.
Russian President Dmitry Medvedev said that the Eurasian Economic Community’s (EEC) member states had agreed to establish "the new Eurasian Union" by 2015.

Medvedev made the statement in Moscow after meeting with the presidents of the other EEC member states -- Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan -- as well as the leaders of the observer countries -- Armenia, Moldova, and Ukraine.

Medvedev said that the sides agreed that the further integration between the EEC member-states should go with the aim to establish the Eurasian Union by 2015.

The next EEC summit will be held in May.

With ITAR-TASS and Interfax reports