Accessibility links

Breaking News

Ukraine Cancels Visa Requirement For Australia, New Zealand, Several Arab States

Ukraine says it has canceled visa requirements for citizens of Australia, New Zealand, Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, and Saudi Arabia.

As of August 1, tourists from the six countries will no longer need a visa to visit Ukraine if their visits do not exceed 90 days.

President Volodymyr Zelenskiy signed the decree on July 21.

Last month, Zelenskiy said Ukraine was looking into the possible cancellation of visa requirements for visitors from several countries, including China, in order to attract more tourists after restrictions to slow the spread of the coronavirus are lifted.

Last year, Ukraine introduced electronic visas for citizens of 52 countries, including China and Australia.

Citizens of all former Soviet republics, the United States, Canada, the European Union,and several countries in South America can enter Ukraine for up to 90 days without a visa.

Citizens of five former Soviet republics -- Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova, and Uzbekistan -- can enter Ukraine without a visa for an indefinite stay.

With reporting by Reuters
  • 16x9 Image


    RFE/RL journalists report the news in 27 languages in 23 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. We provide what many people cannot get locally: uncensored news, responsible discussion, and open debate.

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.