Accessibility links

Breaking News

Uzbekistan Not Planning To Join CSTO

(RFE/RL) 13 February 2006 -- Uzbekistan is not planning to join the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), the organization's secretary-general, Nikolai Bordyuzha, said on 13 February.

The CSTO aims to deepen political as well as military cooperation between its six member-states, which are Russia, Belarus, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan.

Bordyuzha, who visited Uzbekistan on 6-7 February, said Uzbekistan may join in the future, but that the Uzbek authorities will decide only after they have "understood the usefulness of cooperation with the organization."

On 25 January, Uzbekistan became a member of the Eurasian Economic Community (EES), whose membership includes five of the six members of the CSTO. Armenia is the exception.

(Interfax, ITAR-TASS)

RFE/RL Central Asia Report

RFE/RL Central Asia Report

SUBSCRIBE For regular news and analysis on all five Central Asian countries by e-mail, subscribe to "RFE/RL Central Asia Report."

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.