Accessibility links

Breaking News

Three Members Of ISS Crew Return To Earth After 197 Days In Space


ISS crew members Serena Aunon-Chancellor of the United States, Alexander Gerst of Germany, and Sergei Prokopyev of Russia rest after the landing of the Soyuz MS-09 capsule in a remote area of Kazakhstan on December 20.

Three crew members of the International Space Station (ISS) have returned to Earth as they completed their 197-day mission.

The Soyuz capsule carrying German crew commander Alexander Gerst, U.S. astronaut Serena Aunon-Chancellor, and Russian cosmonaut Sergei Prokopyev landed early on December 20 on the Kazakh steppe, 140 kilometers southeast of Zhezqazghan.

Prokopyev commanded the Soyuz capsule on its return to Earth.

The three crewmembers spent 197 days aboard the ISS, performing experiments that can only be conducted in space.

Gerst handed control as the ISS commander over to Russian Oleg Kononenko earlier in the week.

On December 11, Kononenko and Prokopyev conducted a spacewalk and took samples of the exterior of the ISS as part of efforts to resolve the mystery of a small hole found in a craft docked at station.

Kononenko, Anne McClain of the United States, and David Saint-Jacques of Canada arrived at the ISS in early December for their six-month mission.

Based on reporting by AP, AFP, dpa, and TASS