Accessibility links

Breaking News

SCO Meeting Opens In Tajik Capital

(RFE/RL) September 15, 2006 (RFE/RL) -- Tajik President Imomali Rakhmonov today opened a meeting in Dushanbe of prime ministers of the six member countries of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO).

The meeting was called to discuss way of increasing economic cooperation within the bloc, which groups China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.

Delegations from Shanghai group observer countries Iran, Pakistan, India, and Mongolia are reported also attending the meeting, as is a delegation from Afghanistan.


RFE/RL Central Asia Report

RFE/RL Central Asia Report

SUBSCRIBE For regular news and analysis on all five Central Asian countries by e-mail, subscribe to "RFE/RL Central Asia Report."